



Inter-Parliamentary Conference on Climate Change 6–7 October 2019, Helsinki

Draft as of 9 July 2019

Sunday, 6 October 2019

15:00 - 19:00	Arrival of delegations and registration at the hotels
18:30	Get-together event preceding the dinner
20:00	Dinner hosted by Mr Hannu Hoskonen, Chair of the Environment Committee <i>Venue: Restaurant Lasipalatsi</i>
22:00	Return to the hotels

Monday, 7 October 2019

8:10	Departure from the hotels to Little Parliament
8:30	Session I: Strategies for Low Carbon Future - Necessity to speed up CO₂ reductions by 2030 <i>Venue: Auditorium of the Little Parliament, Eduskunta, Arkadiankatu</i> <i>3, Helsinki</i>
	Welcome address by the Speaker of the Parliament, Mr Matti VANHANEN: Carbon neutral Finland by 2035
	Opening of the meeting, Mr Hannu HOSKONEN, Chair of the Environment Committee
8:50 - 9:45	Chair of the session: Ms Satu HASSI, Chair of the Grand Committee

Presentations:

	The IPCC report, Secretary-General Mr Petteri TAALAS, World Meteorological Organization
	Pathways to limiting global warming below 1.5-2°C, Dr Gunnar LUDERER, Potsdam Institute for Climate Impact Research (PIK)
	Climate Strategy – strategies for low Carbon path to 2030 and 2050, Director-General Mr Mauro Raffaele PETRICCIONE, DG Clima
9:45 - 11:00	Exchange of views – Strengthening of Nationally Determined Contributions (NDCs) and the EU target for 2030
11:00 - 11:45	Family photo and Coffee break
11 15 10 15	
11:45 – 12:45	Session II: Climate-Wise Finance Sector
	Chair of the session: Ms Satu HASSI, Chair of the Grand Committee
	Presentations:
	Sustainable Finance Market; the role of investors, Chief Responsible Investment Officer Steve WAYGOOD, Aviva Investors
	Innovative Green Finance: Climate Bonds Initiative, CEO Sean KIDNEY, Climate Bonds Initiative
	Cap-and-trade regulations creating economic opportunities for clean technologies and building national and international partnerships: Executive officer Mr Richard COREY, California Air Resources Board
12:45 - 13:45	Exchange of views
13:45 - 14:00	Closing remarks
14:00 - 15:00	Lunch
15:00 –	Departure of delegations