OSCEs parlamentariske Forsamling 2009-10 OSCE alm. del Bilag 50 Offentligt

Heads of National Delegations to the OSCE Parliamentary Assembly

11 June 2010

Dear Colleague,

As you no doubt know, the current term of Spencer Oliver as our Secretary General expires at the end of this year. Representing the Assembly's Presidency for the past six years, the three of us welcome his candidacy and his willingness to continue in this position. We feel that the Assembly and our successors as Presidents of the Assembly would be best served by Spencer's continued support, and we would like to ask for your backing in the renewal of his mandate.

In accordance with Rule 40, Paragraph 1 of our *Rules of Procedure* the mandate of the Secretary General shall be renewable by a majority vote of the Standing Committee.

Each of us has had the good fortune to benefit from the support and advice of Spencer Oliver during our Presidency. Spencer has been instrumental in the consolidation of the OSCE PA as a parliamentary institution that genuinely contributes to parliamentary dialogue and strengthening of democracy. The small but efficient staff that he has assembled in Copenhagen and Vienna supports the many activities of us parliamentarians – which as you know have grown steadily over the years. In all fields – be it in relations with OSCE structures, election monitoring standards, or questions on Assembly procedures – Spencer's counsel has always been sound and to the benefit of the Assembly.

His background within the CSCE-OSCE field is unmatched by anyone else in the Organization, and we have all profited from his wealth of knowledge on OSCE issues. This experience within the CSCE is invaluable and has provided a solid foundation for our current work and deliberations.

Spencer's excellent stewardship of the finances of the Secretariat has ensured that we rarely spend any time discussing budgetary issues in the Assembly. This is a rare gift that has enabled the Assembly to devote our time to political issues rather than administrative problems.

We hope that you will support Spencer Oliver's candidacy as Secretary General so that all of us can continue to benefit from his counsel.

João Soares

João Soares President

Fra Cemunt

Göran Lennmarker President, 2006-08

alace

Alcee L. Hastings President, 2004-06