NATOs Parlamentariske Forsamling NPA alm. del - Bilag 41 Offentligt

STANDING COMMITTEE

214 SC 05 E Original: English



HOST COUNTRIES FOR FUTURE SESSIONS

1. No nations have offered to host Annual Sessions in 2008 and 2009.

2. As the number of participants in Sessions has grown over the last decade, it is even more important that Session preparations are made well in advance. Suitable meeting and accommodation facilities are usually reserved several years ahead of the meeting. Therefore, host nations for Annual Sessions from 2008 need to be found as soon as possible.

3. Both Greece and Lithuania have kindly offered to host the **2009 Standing Committee**.

4. The attached tables indicate which nations have hosted sessions or Standing Committee meetings from 1983 to 2009. Table 1 shows them chronologically, and Table 2 by country. Table 3 shows the total of points attributed for each activity. This approximate guideline was introduced by President Ton Frinking in 1987, and at Spain's request, the breakdown begins in 1983, the date of Spain's entry into the Assembly. Table 4 shows how many years will have elapsed **in 2009** since each nation last hosted a Standing Committee. Table 5 shows how many years will have elapsed **in 2009** since each nation hosted a Session.

5. It should be borne in mind that these tables do not give consideration to the fact that Belgium grants the use of the Palais d'Egmont conference facilities each year for the Assembly's February joint Committee meetings. Furthermore, Belgium has provided facilities for special Standing Committee meetings in 1999 and 2002, and for the meeting in 2000 when the original host nation had to withdraw.

Table 1: VENUES FOR SESSIONS AND STANDING COMMITTEE MEETINGS FROM 1983 - 2009

Date	Standing Committee	Spring Session	Autumn Session
1983	France	Denmark	Netherlands
1984	Iceland	Luxembourg	Belgium
1985	Portugal	Germany	United States
1986	Norway	Luxembourg	Turkey
1987	France	Canada	Norway
1988	Spain	Portugal	Germany
1989	Netherlands	Turkey	Italy
1990	Iceland	France	United Kingdom
1991	United States	Netherlands	Spain
1992	Luxembourg	Canada	Belgium
1993	Portugal	Germany	Denmark
1994	Greece	Norway	United States
1995	Turkey	Hungary	Italy
1996	Canada	Greece	France
1997	Iceland	Luxembourg	Romania
1998	Portugal	Spain	United Kingdom
1999	Germany*	Poland	Netherlands
2000	Belgium	Hungary	Germany
2001	Italy	Lithuania	Canada
2002	Spain*	Bulgaria	Turkey
2003	France	Czech Republic	United States
2004	Norway	Slovakia	Italy
2005	Iceland	Slovenia	Denmark
2006	Poland	France	Canada
2007	Hungary	Portugal	Iceland
2008	Netherlands	Germany	
2009	Greece or Lithuania (TBC)	Norway	

*Special Standing Committee meetings took place in Belgium in 1999 and 2002.

Table 2: VENUES FOR SESSIONS AND STANDING COMMITEE MEETINGS FROM 1983 TO
2009

Country	Standing Committee	Spring Session	Autumn Session
Belgium	1999*, 2000, 2002*		1984, 1992
Bulgaria		2002	
Canada	1996	1987, 1992	2001, 2006
Czech Republic		2003	
Denmark		1983	1993, 2005
Estonia			
France	1983, 1987, 2003	1990, 2006	1996
Germany	1999	1985, 1993, 2008	1988, 2000
Greece	1994, 2009** tbc	1996	
Hungary	2007	1995, 2000	
Iceland	1984, 1990, 1997, 2005		2007
Italy	2001		1989, 1995, 2004
Latvia			
Lithuania	2009** tbc	2001	
Luxembourg	1992	1984, 1986, 1997	
Netherlands	1989, 2008	1991	1983, 1999
Norway	1986, 2004	1994, 2009	1987
Poland	2006	1999	
Portugal	1985, 1993,1998	1988, 2007	
Romania			1997
Slovakia		2004	
Slovenia		2005	
Spain	1988, 2002	1998	1991
Turkey	1995	1989	1986, 2002
United Kingdom			1990, 1998
United States	1991		1985, 1994, 2003

* Extra Standing Committee meetings: in 1999 due to NATO's action against the Federal Republic of Yugoslavia, and in 2002 to prepare the Assembly's declaration prior to NATO's Prague Summit.

** Both Greece and Lithuania have offered to host the Standing Committee meeting in 2009.

Table 3: Allocation of Points for Standing Committee Meetings and Sessions 1983 to 2009

As agreed in 1987, **ONE** point is given for a Standing Committee meeting, **FOUR** for a Spring Session and **FIVE** for an Autumn Session.

5 + 5 + 1+1+1	= 13
4	= 4
4 + 4 + 1 + 5 + 5	= 19
4	= 4
4 + 5 + 5	= 14
	= 0
1 + 1 + 4 + 5 + 1 + 4	= 16
4 + 5 + 4 + 1 + 5 + 4	= 23
1 + 4 (+1?)	= 5 (6?)
4 + 4 + 1	= 9
1 + 1 + 1 + 1 + 5	= 9
5 + 5 + 1 + 5	= 16
	= 0
4 (+1?)	= 4 (5?)
4 + 4 + 1 + 4	= 13
5 + 1 + 4 + 5 + 1	= 16
1 + 5 + 4 + 1 + 4	= 15
4 + 1	= 5
1 + 2*** + 1 + 1 + 4	= 9
5	= 5
4	= 4
4	= 4
1 + 5 + 4 + 1	= 11
5 + 4 + 1 + 5	= 15
5 + 5	= 10
5 + 1 + 5 + 5	= 16
	$\begin{array}{c} 4\\ 4+4+1+5+5\\ 4\\ 4+5+5\\ \\\hline \\ 1+1+4+5+1+4\\ 4+5+4+1+5+4\\ 1+4(+1?)\\ 4+4+1\\ 1+1+1+1+5\\ 5+5+1+5\\ \\\hline \\ 4(+1?)\\ 4+4+1+4\\ 5+1+4+5+1\\ 1+5+4+1+4\\ \\\hline \\ 5+1+4+5+1\\ 1+5+4+1+4\\ \\\hline \\ 4+1\\ 1+2^{***}+1+1+4\\ \\\hline \\ 5\\ 4\\ \\\hline \\ 4\\ 1+5+4+1\\ \\\hline \\ 5+4+1+5\\ \\\hline \\ 5+5\\ \\\hline \end{array}$

* Although no points are allocated, Belgium also grants the use each year of the Palais d'Egmont conference facility for the Assembly's February meetings

** Iceland has limited facilities for conferences.

*** The expenses for the Spring Session in Madeira in 1988 were partially covered by the Assembly.

**** Either Greece or Lithuania will host the 2009 Standing Committee meeting

Table 4In 2009, Number of Years SinceMember Nations PreviouslyHosted a Standing Committee

Country	Number of years
Czech Republic*	-
Bulgaria**	-
Estonia**	-
Latvia**	-
Lithuania**†	-
Slovakia**	-
Slovenia**	-
Romania**	-
Denmark	20+
United Kingdom	20+
United States	18
Luxembourg	17
Greece†	15
Turkey	14
Canada	13
Portugal	11
Germany	10
Italy	8
Belgium	7
Spain	7
France	6
Norway	5
Iceland	4
Poland*	3
Hungary*	2
Netherlands	1

Table 5In 2009, Number of Years SinceMember Nations PreviouslyHosted a Session

Country	Number of years	
Estonia**	-	
Latvia**	-	
Belgium	17	
Greece	13	
Luxembourg	12	
Romania**	12	
Spain	11	
United Kingdom	11	
Poland*	10	
Hungary*	9	
Lithuania**	8	
Bulgaria**	7	
Turkey	7	
Czech Republic*	6	
United States	6	
Italy	5	
Slovakia**	5	
Denmark	4	
Slovenia**	4	
Canada	3	
France	3	
Iceland	2	
Portugal	2	
Germany	1	
Netherlands	1	
Norway	0	

* Acceded to NATO in 1999

** Acceded to NATO in 2004

 The positioning will change according to whether Greece or Norway hosts the 2009 Standing Committee meeting