OSCE's parlamentariske Forsamling (2. samling) OSCE alm. del - Bilag 76 Offentligt



PRESS RELEASE

OSCE Parliamentarians to honour Ukraine Channel Five with Journalism Prize

COPENHAGEN, 13 June 2005 – The President of the OSCE Parliamentary Assembly, US Congressman Alcee L. Hastings, announced today that Ukraine Television Channel 5 will be awarded the tenth Annual OSCE Prize for Journalism and Democracy. In announcing the winner, President Hastings said that the Assembly was "honouring the professionalism that Channel 5 has displayed by reporting important information even under difficult circumstances". The Assembly will present Channel 5 with the Prize in a special ceremony on 1 July in conjunction with the Assembly's 14th Annual Session in Washington, DC.

Channel 5 played a crucial role in the events of October-December 2004 in which Ukraine peacefully transitioned to a more democratically-oriented and legitimately-elected system of government. With great courage, the Channel reported independently at a time when the government was placing strict controls on media coverage, ignoring widespread popular discontent, and working to manipulate electoral processes.

"It is precisely such credible reporting, so courageously displayed by Channel 5, which the Assembly hoped to encourage in establishing this prize 10 years ago", said President Hastings. The OSCE Prize for Journalism and Democracy was established by the Parliamentary Assembly in 1996 to award journalists or organizations who, through their work, have promoted OSCE principles of human rights and democracy. The Prize is awarded annually to one or more winners, decided upon by the Assembly Bureau based on a recommendation of the Assembly's Prize Committee, and amounts to US \$20 000 which is raised primarily through private donations from publishing companies in OSCE States.

The previous recipients of the Prize are Adam Michnik (1996); *Reporters sans frontières* (1997); Timothy Garton Ash (1998); Christiane Amanpour (1999); Andrei Babitsky (2000); Georgiy Gongadze and José Luis López de Lacalle (2001 posthumously); Friedrich Orter and Pavel Sheremet (2002); Anna Politkovskaya (2003); and the Committee to Protect Journalists (2004).

For further information, representatives of the media are kindly requested to contact Press Counsellor Jan R.M. Jooren, (e-mail: jan@oscepa.dk, Mobile: + 45 40 41 16 41) or Press Officer Andreas Baker, (e-mail <u>andreasb@oscepa.dk</u>) at the OSCE PA International Secretariat in Copenhagen at, Tel +45 33 37 80 40, Fax +45 33 37 80 30.

The Parliamentary Assembly of the OSCE, created by the CSCE Summit in Paris in 1990, is the parliamentary dimension of the 55-nation Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe. The primary task of the 317 member Assembly is to facilitate inter-parliamentary dialogue, an important aspect of the overall effort to meet the challenges of democracy throughout the OSCE area.