





Abu Dhabi Session of the Parliamentary Conference on the WTO

Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates (UAE) 25 February 2024

Organized jointly by the Inter-Parliamentary Union and the European Parliament, with the support of the Federal National Council of the UAE, in connection with the 13th WTO Ministerial Conference (MC13)

PROVISIONAL PROGRAMME

24 February 2024	
09:00 - 12:30	Pre-Conference session of the Steering Committee (in camera)
12:30 – 14:00	Lunch
14:00 – 18:00	Steering Committee (in camera): Finalization of the outcome document
25 February 2024	
09:30 - 10:00	Group photo
10:00 - 11:00	Inaugural session
	 Mr. Saqr Ghobash, Speaker of the Federal National Council (FNC) of the United Arab Emirates (UAE) Ms. Tulia Ackson, President of the Inter-Parliamentary Union (IPU) Ms. Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala, Director-General of the WTO Ms. Athaliah Lesiba Molokomme, Chairperson of the WTO General Council Mr. Thani bin Ahmed Al Zeyoudi, Minister of State for Foreign Trade, UAE
11:00 – 12:00	 Abu Dhabi and beyond: Shaping and strengthening a multilateral trading system that delivers for all Interactive dialogue with senior WTO negotiators and officials Mr. Zulkifli Hasan, Minister of Trade, Indonesia Ms. Rebecca Miano, Cabinet Secretary for Investment, Trade and Industry, Kenya Mr. Valdis Dombrovskis, Executive Vice President for An Economy that Works for People, European Commission Mr. Juan Antonio Coloma Correa, President of the Senate, Chile Moderator: Mr. Bernd Lange, Member of the European Parliament, co-Chair of the Steering Committee, PCWTO

14:00 – 16:00	Presentation of reports and interactive debate on the substantive themes: Trade and climate change: A win-win interaction
	Rapporteurs:
	 Ms. Kathleen Van Brempt, Member of the European Parliament Mr. Ziya Altunyaldiz, Member of Parliament, Grand National Assembly, Türkiye
	Moderator: Mr. Helmut Scholz, Member of the European Parliament
16:00 – 17:30	Discussion: Digital trade in the era of resilient economies
	Rapporteurs:
	 Mr. Jörgen Warborn, Member of the European Parliament Mr. Simanga Mbuyane, Member of Parliament, South Africa (TBC)
	Moderator: Mr. Koffi Kra Paulin Kouassi, Member of the National Assembly, Côte d'Ivoire
17:30 – 18:15	Adoption of the outcome document
	Presentation of the outcome document to the President of MC13
	Address by Mr. Thani bin Ahmed Al Zeyoudi, Minister of State for Foreign Trade, UAE
	Rapporteur: Mr. Marwan O. Al Muhairi, Member of the FNC, UAE
	Moderator: Ms. Meera Al Suwaidi, Member of the FNC, UAE
	Closing remarks: IPU, European Parliament, WTO and FNC/UAE
18:30	Cocktail reception