



EUROPEAN PARLIAMENT COMMITTEE ON THE ENVIRONMENT, PUBLIC HEALTH AND FOOD SAFETY

A debate with National Parliaments on Climate Change

Brussels, Tuesday 19 April 2011 (room JAN 2Q2)

Implementation of the Climate and Energy Package (15.00 - 17.00)

15.00 - 15.30 Introduction by **Jo LEINEN**, Chair of the Committee on the Environment, Public Health and Food Safety of the European Parliament

Eva BULLING-SCHRÖTER, Chair of the Committee for environment, nature conservation and reactor security of the German Bundestag

Connie HEDEGAARD, European Commissioner for Climate Action

Jacqueline McGLADE, Executive Director of the European Environment Agency Bruno LAFONT, CEO of Lafarge, Chairman of the ERT Energy & Climate Change Working Group

15.30 - 17.00 Debate with Members and representatives from National Parliaments

International climate negotiations: EU priorities for South Africa (17.15 - 19.30)

17.15 - 17.45 **Benedek JAVOR -** Chair of the Sustainable Development Committee of the Hungarian Parliament

Christiana FIGUERES, Executive Secretary of the UNFCCC (tbc)

Konstantinos KARTALIS, Chair of the Environment Committee of the Hellenic Parliament

Representative of South Africa (tbc)

17.45 -19.20 **Debate** with Members and representatives from National Parliaments

19.20 - 19.30 Concluding remarks by **Jo LEINEN**

19.45

Dinner debate (by invitation only) in the presence of President Jerzy Buzek